Committees & Task Forces

Serving on an IPA committee gives you the opportunity to directly engage in the profession and association. Share your experience, expertise, and passion to help the association better serve members and advance the profession. Committee involvement is also great opportunity to create connections with colleagues across the state. Each year, IPA’s president selects pharmacists, residents, pharmacy technicians and student pharmacists from a variety of practice settings to serve on the committees below.
If you are interested in serving on a committee, contact Anthony Pudlo at or 515-270-0713 or complete our volunteer survey to tell us all of your volunteering interests.

Policy Committees

IPA’s policy committees serve to move an idea or concept into a policy position and provide direction for the association and the profession. These committees analyze current issues and recommend policy statements to IPA’s House of Delegates for discussion and possible adoption into official IPA policy. IPA has two policy committees:
  • The Policy Committee on Public Affairs - This committee discusses issues related to the pharmacy profession, including education and regulation.
  • The Policy Committee on Professional Affairs - This committee discusses issues related to the role pharmacists play in delivering care to their patients, in addition to interactions with other health care providers and the public.
Policy committee members are responsible for attending two meetings – a committee meeting in the spring at IPA headquarters and an executive committee meeting following the first session of the House of Delegates at the IPA Annual Meeting in June.

Legislative Advisory Committee

The Legislative Advisory Committee serves as the official advisory body on legislation and regulation to the IPA Board of Trustees. Responsibilities assigned to the committee are the following:
  • To review legislative and regulatory proposals affecting pharmacy in Iowa.
  • To evaluate legislative proposals emanating from other states as well as appropriate federal initiatives.
  • To recommend a list of legislative and regulatory priorities to the Board of Trustees.
The committee meets each fall to establish IPA’s legislative and regulatory priorities for the upcoming year. The Committee may also review and comment on proposed legislation or regulatory language throughout the year as needed.

Advisory Committee on Medicaid and Pharmacy Benefit Programs

IPA’s Advisory Committee on Medicaid and Pharmacy Benefit Programs is a professional advisory committee to the Iowa Department of Human Services (DHS) and IPA’s Board of Trustees. The committee meets each fall to discuss issues related to the delivery of services to the Iowa Medicaid program and its recipients, administered by DHS and the state’s fiscal intermediary. This committee has also been expanded to encompass Medicare Part D and issues pertaining to third party payors and pharmacy benefits managers. Committee members may be asked to provide feedback by email communication or by conference call throughout the year.

Health-System Liaison Board

IPA’s Health-System Liaison Board (HSLB) serves as an advisory committee to the IPA Board of Trustees to ensure that priority issues of hospital and health-system pharmacists in the state are discussed. The HSLB was created to meet the affiliation requirements of ASHP and includes front-line pharmacist practitioners, student pharmacists, and pharmacy technicians who serve one-year terms.
This committee meets up to twice per year, typically in spring and fall, while feedback may be sought via email or by conference call throughout the year. Discussion focuses on health-system and hospital-related topics that affect the day-to-day operations of the pharmacy department and relate to the clinical practice of pharmacists in these settings. This committee may also refer topics for consideration to the IPA policy committees for debate in the IPA House of Delegates.

Hospital Leadership Team

The Hospital Leadership Team (HLT) consists of pharmacy directors from health systems and critical access hospitals across the state. HLT membership is an opportunity to network and discuss issues directly with IPA as well as learn the association's priority issues to disseminate throughout each health-system represented on the HLT. Members of the HLT do not have term limits.
Discussion focuses on strategic topics affecting the health-system and hospital as a whole. These topics may relate closely to agenda items of the Health-System Liaison Board (HSLB). This group may recommend action items be considered by the HSLB. 

Education Committee

The Education Committee seeks to expand educational programs offered by the association and assess IPA and CEImpact programming to keep it aligned with members’ needs. Throughout the year, feedback and review may be sought via email communication or by conference call.

LTC and Senior Care Advisory Committee

The Long Term Care and Senior Care Advisory Committee advises the IPA Board of Trustees and IPA staff on issues including short cycle dispensing, geriatric therapy updates, and changing federal rules related to LTC and senior care. Input from committee members be sought throughout the year via email or conference call.

Pharmacy Technician Advisory Committee

IPA’s Pharmacy Technician Advisory Committee serves to address issues facing pharmacy technician members, promote the National Pharmacy Technician Certification Examination in Iowa, and develop and promote educational programs and materials for CPhTs and technicians interested in becoming certified. This committee is mostly comprised of pharmacy technicians from across the state. Input from committee members may be sought throughout the year via email or conference call.

IPPAC Advisory Committee

This committee advises on the use of Iowa Pharmacy Political Action Committee (IPPAC) funds to strategically strengthen relationships with key legislators and candidates who are supportive of pharmacy’s role in delivering patient care. Each committee member must be an annual contributor to the IPPAC with a $250 minimum contribution.