Resident's Meeting

 Tuesday, September 15, 2020

8:00 am-12:00 pm
Virtual Event

Annual IPA Resident's Meeting, taking place virtually on September 15th, is an opportunity for all PGY1 and PGY2 residents from across the state to meet with one another and IPA executive officers and staff. There is no cost to attend! Register today!

Each year, IPA brings together Iowa’s resident pharmacists and residency program directors, preceptors, and directors of pharmacy for a one-day event to introduce the residents to the pharmacy leadership in Iowa. Residents have the opportunity to network with each other and IPA leadership, discussing their projects and the issues in healthcare today and the initiatives that IPA is spearheading. A majority of time with IPA leadership and staff during the day’s event is devoted to understanding the role of the association in helping to advance pharmacy practice in Iowa. Residency program directors have the opportunity to discuss the state of residency training and their programs in the state with IPA leadership and how we can continue to expand residency offerings. It's also a great opportunity for preceptor development. Over the past few years, IPA has collaborated with key residency programs have one of the ASHP Foundation’s Visiting Leader be a part of the Annual Resident’s Meeting. Past Visiting Leaders have included Jan Carmichael and Henri Manasse.

2020 Resident's Meeting Agenda

September 15, 2020
8:00 am Welcome                                                            
Kate Gainer, PharmD, Executive Vice President & CEO, IPA
8:15 am Keynote – A Chance of Awesome: How Changing the Way You See Changes Everythingur Leadership Journey                                            Jason & Kim Kotecki, Professional Speakers
9:15 am Networking Break Zoom
9:30 am Overview of IPA’s Past, Present, Future
Connie Connolly, RPh, BCACP, IPA President
Cheryl Clarke, EdD, RPh, FAPhA, Chairman of the Board
10:00 am Introductions of Residents
10:30 am Breakout Discussions – PGY-1 Residents
  • Transitioning from Student to New Practitioner during COVID-19 
    • Cheryl Clarke, EdD, RPh, FAPhA, Chairman of the Board
    • Benjamin Jagow, PharmD, BCCCP, ER/Critical Care Pharmacist
  • Managing Your Research Project
    • Jared Butler, PharmD, BCPS, Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice
    • Chris Clayton, PharmD, MBA, Incoming President-Elect
  • Aligning Your Interests & Getting Involved
    • Anthony Pudlo, PharmD, MBA, VP of Professional Affairs, IPA
    • Amanda Abdulbaki, PharmD, Director of Membership & Engagement, IPA
Breakout Discussions – PGY-2 Residents
  • Social Determinants of Health & Addressing Health Disparities
    • Diane Reist, PharmD, RPh, President-Elect
    • Morgan Herring, PharmD, BCPS, Clinical Associate Professor
  • Advocacy 201
    • Casey Ficek, JD, Director of Public Affairs, IPA
    • Connie Connolly, RPh, BCACP, IPA President
  • Resiliency and Burnout
    • Kate Gainer, PharmD, Executive Vice President & CEO, IPA
11:20 am Virtual Interviewing and Precepting
Stevie Veach, PharmD, BCACP, Clinical Assistant Professor
Jenny Phabmixay, PharmD, BCSP
11:50 am Final Thoughts & Adjourn

Click here to open and download agenda as a PDF.

Check back for continuing education (CE) credit information.