The Bridge    Join    


2016 Leadership Pharmacy Participants Announced

IPA congratulates these 10 Iowa pharmacists selected to participate in the 2016 Leadership Pharmacy Conference.

Leadership Pharmacy, a leadership program for new practitioners, will begin its 28th year with a live conference on August 4-7, 2016 in Galena, IL. This program is available to pharmacists in Iowa and Wisconsin who are interested in becoming leaders in their profession. Twenty pharmacists, ten from each state, are selected annually to participate. The Iowa Pharmacy Association (IPA) is pleased to announce the 2016 Leadership Pharmacy participants from Iowa:
  • Christina Baumgart, PharmD, Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, VA Clinic, LaCrosse, WI (Director of Pharmacy at Winneshiek Medical Center in Decorah, IA, at time of acceptance)
  • Leigh Boehmer, PharmD, BCOP, Oncology Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, Mercy Medical Center - North Iowa
  • Kari Heitzman, PharmD, Clinical Staff Pharmacist, Iowa Methodist Medical Center
  • Alex Hoopes, PharmD, Director, Network Performance, OutcomesMTM
  • Andrea Kjos, PharmD, PhD, Assistant Professor, Drake University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
  • Shane Madsen, PharmD, BCPS, Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, UIHC
  • Kelly Percival, PharmD, BCPS, Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice, Drake University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
  • Sarah Schmidt, PharmD, Pharmacy Manager, Walgreens
  • Jill Stegall, PharmD, Pharmacy Manager, Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare
  • Dustin Villhauer, PharmD, Staff Pharmacist, Hy-Vee Pharmacy #1151
The Leadership Pharmacy program was designed to provide a unique opportunity for pharmacists in their first three to 15 years of practice to develop organizational skills which will enable both personal and professional growth. The goals of this conference are to provide participants with strong leadership training, increase their awareness of state and national pharmacy issues, encourage involvement in professional and community activities, and develop new practitioners for leadership roles within the profession.
IPA and the Pharmacy Society of Wisconsin, along with Sanofi U.S., have agreed to underwrite all costs associated with the 2016 program for the selected participants. IPA, along with lead contributor McKesson Corporation, developed the Thomas R. Temple Leadership Endowment Fund to endow the program into perpetuity. 


Iowa MPJE Study Guide

Studying for the Iowa MPJE or know someone who is? Download IPA's Iowa MPJE Study Guide – updated for 2023!