The Bridge    Join    

Student Pharmacist Support

The IPA Foundation was initially founded in 1960 to provide scholarships and loans to student pharmacists at Drake University and the University of Iowa and supporting student pharmacists has remained the cornerstone of its mission ever since. The foundation has expanded its support of student pharmacists, ensuring that the next generation of pharmacists are well-educated, engaged in their profession, and prepared to became its future leaders.


The foundation provides scholarships each year to student pharmacists from both Drake University and the University of Iowa. The foundation works with each college to determine recipients that exude the values of the foundation and the best of the profession.


To encourage professional engagement, the foundation provides support for student pharmacists to attend state and national meetings. These initiatives are designed to instill a sense of professionalism, increase awareness of professional issues, improve leadership skills, and establish students as an integral part of the profession.

Leadership Development

To develop the next generation of pharmacy leaders, the foundation has established several programs to develop leadership skills and experience to take with them as they begin their careers. The Bill Burke Student Pharmacist Leadership Conference is a two-day conference for 30 student pharmacists to build leadership skills and increase awareness of issues affecting the profession.
The foundation also supports the Max W. Eggleston Executive Internship in Association Management. This twelve-week program held each summer to provide student pharmacists with an educational experience in professional association management and support the foundation through projects related to pharmacy leadership and innovative practice research.


The IPA Foundation established the Karbeling Leadership Award in 2006 as a tribute to the leadership and service of the late Jerry Karbeling. The award reflects Jerry’s passion for involvement in professional organizations and the political process by recognizing one Drake University and one University of Iowa student pharmacist each year who demonstrate outstanding participation in these areas. Recipients are P3 student pharmacists who are nominated by their respective college of pharmacy. 
Want to join the foundation in supporting the state's student pharmacists? Donate now to the IPA Foundation's general fund.