The Bridge    Join    

IPA Executive Fellowship

IPA Executive Fellowship in Association Management

Application Deadline: January 28, 2024 **Deadline Extended**

The Iowa Pharmacy Association Executive Fellowship in Association Management is a postgraduate training program conducted at the Iowa Pharmacy Association headquarters under the direction of the professional affairs staff. An association management fellowship provides an exceptional learning experience for a pharmacist interested in being a leader in the health care system. Associations touch the lives of individuals on a daily basis. They inspire professionals, unify the profession and provide innovative opportunities for members.

The purpose of this executive fellowship is to:
  • Support the development of individuals interested in association management through training and experience in leadership, advocacy, professional affairs and problem-solving at the Iowa Pharmacy Association.
  • Prepare individuals for leadership positions in a variety of settings in the profession of pharmacy and health care.
  • Advance areas of the Iowa Pharmacy Association’s strategic plan with a focus on clinical initiatives and grassroots advocacy.

Fellowship Information

Duration: 12 months (July 1-June 30)
Number of Positions: 1
Application Deadline: January 28
Starting Date: July 1
Estimated Stipend: $36,000 - $40,000
Interview Required: Yes

Fellowship Special Features

The executive fellow will work to expand IPA’s clinical initiatives, attend state and national pharmacy meetings, gain exposure to all aspects of association work, and provide insight and assistance to the association. The fellow will continue to advance the role of the pharmacist in the healthcare system by engaging with Iowa’s pharmacists, student pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, policy makers, state agencies, other health care provider groups and managed care organizations. The fellow will be allowed flexibility to tailor the experience to his or her interest to ensure there is passion behind the work that is done.

Fringe Benefits

  • Group Insurance coverage at 90% (Fellow responsible for 10%)
  • 10 days Paid Time Off (PTO)
  • Simple IRA Contribution Match up to 3%
  • Paid Holidays

Special Requirements for Acceptance

PharmD from ACPE-accredited college of pharmacy, pharmacist licensure in Iowa, and background check. Residency training preferred.

Selection of the Applicant

Applicants should submit their application packet via email by 5:00 pm (Central time) on December 31. You will be notified within 2 business days once your complete application is received. Incomplete applications will not be considered. Candidates will be asked to interview for the position, which may begin before the application deadline. Selection of the applicant shall be the responsibility of the executive staff of the Iowa Pharmacy Association. An announcement of the final selection will be made ASAP.


A complete application includes:
  • Cover letter
  • Current curriculum vitae
  • Written responses to all three application questions:
    • In less than 400 words, please provide an overview of why you are applying for this Fellowship and how you plan to utilize the experience in your future career.
    • In less than 400 words, what personal strengths and experiences would you bring to the Iowa Pharmacy Association? Include a description of your professional and/or community achievements and future goals.
    • In less than 400 words, in your opinion what are the most important issues facing the profession of pharmacy in your state and nationally?
  • Three letters of recommendation
Submit your official application to with subject: IPA Fellow Application – YOUR NAME. Letters of recommendation may be sent directly to or mailed to the Iowa Pharmacy Association, 8515 Douglas Avenue, Suite 16, Des Moines, IA 50322.

Learn More

Want to learn more? Check out 2020-2021 Executive Fellow Sharmi Patel’s review of her fellowship experience!

Past Executive Fellows

2021-2023: Elizabeth Regan (Orput), PharmD
First position after fellowship: PGY2 Executive Fellow, Iowa Pharmacy Association, Des Moines, IA
Current position: Staff Pharmacist, Medicap Pharmacy, Des Moines, IA

2020-2021: Sharmi Patel, PharmD, MBA
First position after fellowship: Oncology Regulatory Affairs Fellowship, Seagen Global Headquarters, Bothell, WA
Current position: Manager of Regulatory Affairs, Seagen Global Headquarters, Bothell, WA

2019-2020: Amanda Abdulbaki, PharmD
First position after fellowship: Director of Membership & Engagement, Iowa Pharmacy Association, Des Moines, IA

2018-2019: Matthew Pitlick, PharmD, BCPS
First position after fellowship: Medication Management Lead, Iowa Healthcare Collaborative, Des Moines, IA
Current position: Pharmacy Manager, MercyOne West Lakes Medical Center, West Des Moines, IA
2017-2018: Shannon Rudolph, PharmD
First position after fellowship/Current position: Site Manager, Genoa Healthcare, Marshall, MN
2016-2017: Sarah Derr, PharmD
First position after fellowship: Director of Medication Safety and Effectiveness, Iowa Healthcare Collaborative, Des Moines, IA
Current position: Executive Director, Minnesota Pharmacists Association, St. Paul, MN