IPA Awards

The Iowa Pharmacy Association takes great pride in recognizing individuals for their contributions of leadership, patient care, professional involvement and public service. These awards, presented during IPA’s Annual Meeting, serve to capture Iowa pharmacy’s spirit of service and its culture of professionalism. Review the 2021 IPA Awards Book.

Click the title of each award for description, history and nomination submission.
Bowl of Hygeia 
2021 Recipient Steven Sayler, RPh, Indianola

Robert G. Gibbs Distinguished Pharmacist 
2021 Recipient Steve Firman, BS Pharm,​ MBA, FAPhA​, Cedar Falls

Honorary President
2021 Recipient Dan Murphy, RPh​, Davenport

Excellence in Innovation
2021 Recipient Casey Villhauer,​ PharmD, BCGP​, Ankeny

Distinguished Young Pharmacist of the Year 
2021 Recipient Rachel Otting, PharmD​, Dubuque

Health-System Pharmacist of the Year
2021 Recipient Jen Morris, PharmD​, Manning

Patient Care Partner Award
2021 Recipient Genesis Health Group 3rd Street Family Practice Clinic​, Davenport

Appreciation Award
2021 Recipient (Individual) Lindsey Ludwig, RPh​, Des Moines

Pharmacy Technician of the Year 
2021 Recipient Connie Siepker, CPhT​, Manning

Jerry Karbeling Leadership Award
2021 Recipient (Drake University) Isabelle Tharp, PharmD Candidate 2022
2021 Recipient (University of Iowa) Alexis Clouse, PharmD Candidate 2022

Poster Presentation (presented by the IPA Foundation)
2021 Recipient "antibiogramDSM: ​A Community Antibiogram and Educational Initiative" - Andrew Meisner, PharmD, BCPS;​ Benjamin Williamson, MPH; Amanda Bushman, PharmD, BCPS-AQ ID, BCIDP

Good Governance Award
2022 Recipient  Representative Brian Best

Legislative Champion Award
2022 Recipient  Greg Johansen, RPh, FACA, West Des Moines

Past Awards